Archive for August, 2009

“Guess Who’s The Black Trump” – Raekwon feat. Ghostface and Cappadonna – “10 Bricks” {Prod. by J. Dilla}

Posted in Uncategorized on August 23, 2009 by Yooj‽

Rae n Ghost

I see your Drake, and raise you a ‘Donna…

Isn’t this how it’s supposed to be?  Your favorite rappers leaking {or not leaking..yeahaight} their joints tit for tat.

Is it me, or is Rae turning into the innanets rap bully all of a sudden?  First he was spotrushin’ dudes on they Ustream, now he straight hypeswiped Jay by feeding us with this madness from my favorite Wu trio.  I love it.

And say what you will about Cappa, but The Pillage still gets mucho burn round these parts.

Sidenote: I think we should hereby denote all Dilla beats to the Wu.  Let’s decide on this peacebly before Rae just strongarms them.

Only Built For Cuban Linx II in stores a couple days before Blueprint 3.  Buy it, or Raekwon will come to your crib…thru your broadband connection.

Raekwon feat. Ghostface and Cappadona – 10 Bricks {Prod. by J. Dilla}

one love to OnSmash for the Big Joker


“Sit Back And Watch The Traffic Move” – Jay-Z feat. Drake – “Off That” {Prod. by Timbaland}

Posted in Uncategorized on August 23, 2009 by Yooj‽


I have decided to start posting more music through these here parts.  For street cred. I’ve listened to this seven times, and I am still waiting for Drake’s verse.  You mean to tell me you couldn’t have just had Bleek on this hook. Really?

Timbo has been fien’n for a Hov’over for a couple of bullets now, so it is a refreshing return to the spacepop of yore.  I gotta be honest though, and say that I haven’t really been feeling much of the literal play on “Young Hova” that Shawn Corey has been presenting lately.  It’s like BP3 is setting up to be a “Take Your Rapper To Work” album.

I must say though, especially after going to the NeverLeaveBrooklyn party a couple of nights ago and sneaking into this little treble n bass shindigahoo that was happening next door and zoning to some next shit with 3 shots of Patron Cafe and some of Mother Earth’s best in my system, that I am kind of excited at the fact that within two weeks {internets time} Myrtle Avenue will be swathed with a layer of easy listening with every ’96 Integra that passes by.

Dear Indian Summer, you know I’m gonna miss you.

Jay-Z feat. Drake – “Off That” {prod. by Timbaland}

“Hovv-Ra The Everliving” – Jay-Z Blueprint 3 Tracklisting

Posted in Uncategorized on August 18, 2009 by Yooj‽


Wait?…. No Bleek?

The presumed final tracklist (and quite possibly rear cover artwork) appeared on Father Time’s site today. It looks like BP3 is gonna be closer to the second installment of the trilogy than the first. Features galore. Here are some of my predictions:

-“Hate” will probably be the most gregarious display of egomaniac greatness that we will hear this year….or at least since “Real As It Gets”.

-J. Cole will black.

-“Reminder” will be my favorite song. I don’t know, Jay is notorious for those late album solo moments.

-Wale and Mickey Factz will commit suicide before their albums are released.

Its pretty apparent that Jay is using this moment to align himself with the “Saved By The Bell – The New Class” “Teen Titans” “Digimon” new crop of rapsters. Kinda wild to think that Jay actually is gaining more from the features than the young guns are (no ChrisNeef-o)

I think it will benefit the old guy though. Hov gets better when he’s got something to prove. And he’s not going anywhere. I can’t wait until my son is on Blueprint 9 going bar for bar with Jay. I know Jay will still be worth a verse in 2029. He’s not the Brett Favre of this rap shit. He’s not the Rickey Henderson of this rap shit. He’s something much more than that….

When Jay gets that young rapper strength…he’s kinda like Mumm-Ra The Everliving of this rap shit.

1. What We Talkin’ About (Feat. Luke Steele of Empire of the Sun) (Produced By Kanye West and No I.D.)

2. Thank You (Produced By Kanye West and No I.D.)

3. D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)” (Produced By No I.D.)

4. Run This Town (Feat. Kanye West and Rihanna) (Produced By Kanye West & No I.D.)

5. Empire State of Mind (Feat. Alicia Keys) (Produced By Al Shux)

6. Real As It Gets (Feat. Young Jeezy) (Produced By The Incredibles)

7. On To The Next One (Feat. Swizz Beatz) (Produced By Swizz Beatz)

8. Off That (Feat. Drake) (Produced By Timbaland)

9. A Star is Born (Feat. J. Cole) (Produced By Kanye West and No I.D.)

10. Venus vs. Mars (Produced By Timbaland)

11. Already Home (Feat. Kid Cudi) (Produced By Kanye West)

12. Hate (Feat. Kanye West) (Produced By Kanye West)

13. Reminder (Produced By Timbaland)

14. So Ambitious (Feat. Pharrell) (Produced By The Neptunes)

15. Young Forever (Feat. Mr Hudson) (Produced By Kanye West)

YN scores another one for the old heads.

Major Lazer – “Pon De Floor” – {Dir: Eric Wareheim}

Posted in Uncategorized on August 5, 2009 by Yooj‽

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Yeah…. I’ve been to a couple passa passa joints…. and you can take my basement-party-raised word when I say that, if you have never been to one, you cannot truly understand the double coats of brilliance in this video. I love it. *golf claps*

Skerrit Bwoy is a rockstar in this arena. Using him in this capacity is one of those “genius no-brainer”s that was still an essential decision to make if this movement is gonna get moved.  This is not even the tip of the iceberg of the caliber of output that a progressive stream of powerful and creative visuals for this subculture could generate. This shit, fortunately, is very good.  Eric Wareheim‘s stuff always touches my sensibilities………………….{||} that’s a pause.  It’s the moments like this, though, that many an artist are afraid of creating, fearing that their integrity will be compromised by the absence of reality (or in this case, a packed, SouthsideJamaicaQueens Boys & Girls Club). It works here, however, because you get to see the caricatured essence of the crossection in a very intense, yet extremely digestable way…. easy win.

Oh,…and about the music…


I think the Major Lazer  album “Guns Don’t Kill People…Lasers Do” might end up being one of my favorite releases of the year by the time it settles.  If not for anything else, for the sole purpose that this shit makes me want to move recklessly. Move Music for real. I’ve been zoning for a second now… and it’s bittersweet to think that we are at a nook in music and culture where great shit is being built on appropriating music styles traditionally made by minorities and then selling it to white people who normally wouldn’t be caught dead listening to said type of music. But hey, what are you going to do, ya’nahmean‽ I still think the album is straightflav.

And you can’t ever really think that this dude is losin out to two white producer/dj’s. Well you can….but you wouldn’t really.

Now I’m hype. shit….  I have to hit at least like two dagger’fests before the summer dips off.  Can’t wait.